ChinaManufacturer Source-led research for China sourcing.

Read this story with your agent

Ask questions about the story and find ideas for your own work. Choose an app to get started.

In a compatible browser, your agent can use this page’s WebMCP tools to read sections and navigate the story. You can also copy the prompt into any AI app.

Thinking tools

Choose a question, then open an app or copy its prompt.

In this story

    Research journalTechnical guide / China sourcing

    Diesel Generator kW vs kVA: Prime, Standby and Frequency

    Use manufacturer examples and a power-unit calculator to separate electrical output, duty rating and engine application data.

    6 research references 6 source domains · See evidence & scope
    Supplier discovery / Multi-platform sources

    Find the people
    behind the power.

    Explore the published evidence behind each supplier and build your own shortlist.

    Read the research
    3 suppliers · One company per cardSources reviewed
    A generic open-frame generator with engine, alternator and controls.
    Manufacturer siteCategory illustration · not supplier photography

    AGG Power

    Fuzhou, Fujian, China
    Diesel gensetsGas gensets

    AS250D6 specification separates prime 225 kVA / 180 kW from standby 250 kVA / 200 kW at 60 Hz.

    Manufacturer product page
    What to confirm

    Confirm the 50 Hz equivalent rating and the complete-set configuration behind the model sheet.

    Company website
    Measuring tools and a coupling on an inspection bench.
    Manufacturer siteCategory illustration · not supplier photography

    Hosem Power

    Fuzhou, Fujian, China
    Diesel gensetsStandby power

    A-SH550 table names an SDEC engine and separates Rate Power 500 kVA / 400 kW from Max. Power 550 kVA / 440 kW at 50 Hz.

    Manufacturer product page
    What to confirm

    Ask how the maker defines Rate Power versus Max. Power and which applies to your duty.

    Company website
    Generic generator sets on an assembly floor.
    Manufacturer siteCategory illustration · not supplier photography

    Dingbo Power

    Nanning, Guangxi, China
    Diesel gensetsDeutz-powered

    DB-200GF set data lists 200 kW / 250 kVA at 50 Hz, 400/230 V, with a Deutz BF6M1015-GA engine.

    Manufacturer product page
    What to confirm

    Ask whether the published output is a prime or standby rating and request the matching test record.

    Company website

    Choose suppliers to compareCompare the published evidence side by side.

    How this list was made. Selected from the suppliers cited in this article's research, across marketplaces and manufacturer sites — not ranked by quality. Listings are supplier disclosures; no factory visits, product tests or current quotations are claimed. Category illustrations are original concept images. Our research method ↗

    / ArticleSource-led research
    Industrial motor and alternator components on a workbench.
    At a rated power factor of 0.8, 200 kW equals 250 kVA.

    The equation is kW = kVA × power factor. This converts electrical units; it does not make a standby rating suitable for prime operation or determine the generator size required by a site.

    How do you convert kW to kVA?

    250 kVA = 200 kW ÷ 0.8

    Unit conversion only. This does not size a generator, allow for motor starting, or convert standby output into prime output. Use the rated power factor for the actual model.

    Why can the same generator have two output ratings?

    Generator duty ratings describe different operating conditions. A supplier's published model sheet should identify which rating applies to the offer. Do not apply one universal percentage to convert every maker's standby output into prime output.

    Published examples with their original rating labels
    Source / modelFrequencyPublished outputInterpretation
    AGG AS250D6[1]60 HzPrime 225 kVA / 180 kW; standby 250 kVA / 200 kWA 200 kW standby offer is not a 200 kW prime offer.
    Hosem A-SH550[2]50 HzRate Power 500 kVA / 400 kW; Max. Power 550 kVA / 440 kWPreserve the labels used by the source; request its duty definitions.
    Dingbo DB-200GF[6]50 HzSet output 200 kW / 250 kVAMaker-published set data with a Deutz BF6M1015-GA engine; the page does not state a prime or standby designation.

    Can you compare a 50 Hz and 60 Hz offer by kW alone?

    No. Frequency is part of the specification, and changing speed may change published application ratings. The Cummins G-Drive C-Series page illustrates the distinction for the same engine model. It is engine application data, not a complete generating-set quotation.

    Cummins 6CTAA8.3-G7 G-Drive example · manufacturer disclosure
    FrequencySpeedPrime kVA / kWStandby kVA / kW
    50 Hz1,500 rpm200 / 160220 / 176
    60 Hz1,800 rpm230 / 184255 / 204

    The same source lists this engine application as Non-Regulated. A familiar engine brand or compatible kW figure alone does not establish destination emissions compliance.

    Which load and site information still matters?

    Supply a load schedule that identifies running demand, starting motors, step loads and sensitive equipment. Record ambient temperature and altitude, and ask the selected maker for its model-specific output and transient-performance confirmation at those conditions. Keep those engineering checks separate from the simple unit calculation above.

    RESEARCH IN VIEWElectrical units
    REAL POWER200 kW
    =
    APPARENT POWER250 kVA
    ×
    POWER FACTOR0.8
    kW = kVA × power factorIllustrative calculation · PF 0.8
    This converts electrical units only. It does not convert standby into prime duty or determine the generator size required by a site. Read the rating qualifications

    How should the rating appear on your purchase documents?

    Use one line that includes model, rating designation, kW, kVA, power factor, frequency, voltage and phases. Require exceptions to be written into the quotation. Match that line against the offered datasheet and the final acceptance-test record; do not substitute an engine brochure for the complete-set data.

    Apply these checks to listing prices · Download the RFQ template

    Read the operating conditions behind the label

    Source-based explanation

    Caterpillar distinguishes backup ratings, prime operation with varying load, and continuous operation with a non-varying load. The paper attaches operating conditions to its categories; the headline output alone does not describe the permitted duty. [4]

    Use & limitsThese are Cat’s published categories. They are not a translation table for every maker’s terms.

    What to ask next

    Editorial checklist

    • Write expected hours per year and whether the generator is backup or the principal power source.
    • Provide the expected load profile, including sustained demand and occasional peaks. Ask which published rating definition matches it.

    Separate active and apparent demand

    Source-based explanation

    AGN 087 defines power factor as the relationship between active kWe and apparent kVA. For a buyer brief, retain both quantities and the relevant load condition. [5]

    Use & limitsA kW/kVA conversion is arithmetic, not an equipment-sizing result.

    What to ask next

    Editorial checklist

    • Ask the engineer or equipment maker to identify the load assumptions and input data used in the sizing calculation.
    • Separate running PF from starting behavior and flag UPS, drives or other sensitive loads for specific review.
    RESEARCH IN VIEWDecision framework
    01
    Define the brief

    Output, duty and site conditions

    02
    Match the package

    Model, components and delivery basis

    03
    Check the evidence

    Entity, documents and test scope

    04
    Record the gaps

    Clarify exceptions before comparing

    From a question to a comparable offer. Use the same brief, retain source dates and keep unresolved exceptions visible.

    Sources, dates and scope

    6 references. Each record keeps its own review date. A manufacturer disclosure is not an independent test; a retrieval date is not a price-effective date. Hover, focus or tap a numbered reference to inspect its source.

    1. [1]Manufacturer disclosure
      www.aggpower.com

      AGG · AS250D6 60 Hz product specifications ↗

      Use & limits
      One generating-set model; not a test performed by ChinaManufacturer.

      Named source page / model table; see recorded evidence

      Publication date not stated · Original public record · Reviewed 2026-10-19
      View the recorded evidence

      AS250D6: 60 Hz, 1,800 rpm; standby 250 kVA/200 kW; prime 225 kVA/180 kW.

    2. [2]Manufacturer disclosure
      www.hosempower.com

      Hosem · commercial standby generator specifications ↗

      Use & limits
      A-SH550 table; preserve original labels Max. Power and Rate Power rather than silently equating them to ISO ratings.

      Named source page / model table; see recorded evidence

      Publication date not stated · Original public record · Reviewed 2026-10-19
      View the recorded evidence

      A-SH550: 50 Hz; Rate Power 500 kVA/400 kW; Max. Power 550 kVA/440 kW. Engine SDEC SC25G690D2.

    3. [3]Engine manufacturer disclosure
      www.cummins.com

      Cummins · Diesel C-Series G-Drive specifications ↗

      Use & limits
      G-Drive engine application ratings; not a complete generator-set offer.

      Named source page / model table; see recorded evidence

      Publication date not stated · Original public record · Reviewed 2026-10-19
      View the recorded evidence

      6CTAA8.3-G7: at 50 Hz, prime 200 kVA/160 kW and standby 220 kVA/176 kW; at 60 Hz, prime 230 kVA/184 kW and standby 255 kVA/204 kW. Listed Non-Regulated.

    4. [4]Manufacturer technical paper
      www.cat.com

      Caterpillar · Generator Ratings: Prime, Standby Power and More ↗

      Use & limits
      Cat rating definitions; retain the named category and its conditions. Do not map every commercial label directly to an ISO designation.

      Sections Standby, Emergency Standby Power, Prime, Continuous

      Publication date not stated · Web edition; publication date not stated · Reviewed 2026-10-22
      View the recorded evidence

      Cat distinguishes backup duty, varying-load prime duty and constant-load continuous duty, with operating limits for each.

    5. [5]Alternator application note
      www.stamford-avk.com

      STAMFORD | AvK · AGN 087: Power Factor ↗

      Use & limits
      Actual load power factor is not fixed at 0.8; a unit conversion does not validate engine output or size a complete set.

      PDF p.1, Definitions; subsequent capability discussion

      Publication date not stated · Issue C; date not established · Reviewed 2026-10-22
      View the recorded evidence

      Power factor relates active kWe to apparent kVA. Conventional alternator ratings use 0.8 lagging power factor.

    6. [6]Manufacturer disclosure
      www.dieselgeneratortech.com

      Dingbo · DB-200GF model data ↗

      Use & limits
      One generating-set model published by its maker; the duty designation is not stated on the page.

      Named source page / model table; see recorded evidence

      Publication date not stated · Original public record · Reviewed 2026-10-29
      View the recorded evidence

      DB-200GF: 200 kW / 250 kVA, 50 Hz, 400/230 V, power factor 0.8; Deutz BF6M1015-GA engine.

    Research method · Submit a correction

    A DIFFERENT WAY TO READ

    Follow your questions.
    Explore with your agent.

    Read the story, inspect its sources and take the ideas into your own sourcing questions. Article tools keep the page beside the conversation.

    How WebMCP works
    BETTER SOURCES. BETTER RESEARCH.

    Share a source.
    Make the next decision clearer.

    Found an outdated reference or a useful public document? Send the source and the specific claim it helps clarify.

    Send a source or correction
    A useful correction
    starts with a link.
    Source URLWhat should we check?
    The claim, date, model or scope
    that needs another look.
    Contact the publication

    AI Assistant

    Welcome to ChinaManufacturer!

    Explore manufacturing research, industrial belts and supplier evidence.

    Tell me what you’re sourcing or ask a question.